Skip to content

Asteria

January 15, 2016

Dream – I am the star child, Asteria. At this moment I do not remember what I came here to do. 2006

Yes, I am a dreamer. The night sky intrigues me as nothing else in the world does. The sight of the stars makes me home sick.

Vincent Van Gogh said, “I know very little with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream.”

I have flown among the stars and belong there. They show up in my dreams and become passwords. I imagine light streaming from the navel of the Egyptian Sky goddess, clothed in the radiant fire of the firmament, blessing the earth with beautiful nights.

I dream many things, like stretching myself to the edges of the universe, and holding all that it holds. I dream of other worlds and know that I am there. I fill up with a great enormity beneath a sky blazing with stars. I feel the music of their shining. I am bursting with it. It is the music of my soul. Vincent knew.

Stars inspire me. They remind me that I am a spark of the same power as they and shine as bright. Human eyes miss those things, or we would all be blinded walking down the street. The stars call me out sometimes, to explore, to show me a different perspective, to take me somewhere I have never been. They watch, loving parents, a wisp of an old dream, faded pale.

*******

Note:  Asteria. The goddess of falling stars and prophetic dreams; in Greek Mythology, the last of the immortals to linger on earth. Her name means Starry Night. (Jobes)

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

